CABINET MEMBER FOR EDUCATION & WELSH LANGUAGE

FRIDAY, 24 March 2023

PRESENT: Councillor: G. Davies (Cabinet Member).

The following officers were in attendance:

T. Neumayer-James, Principal School Governance Officer M.S. Davies, Democratic Services Officer

Virtual Meeting: 9.00 am - 9.10 am

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

2. DECISION RECORD - 24TH JANUARY 2023

RESOLVED that the decision record of the meeting held on the 24th January 2023 be signed as a correct record.

3. APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

The Cabinet Member considered applications received for Local Authority Governor vacancies within the county. It was noted that nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools/the member(s) who were governors in the case of Secondary Schools.

It was also noted that Local Authority Governors are appointed for 4 years and where the vacancy has occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end, this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

The Principal School Governance Officer reported that all County Councillors, when elected, may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA Governors. Consequently, County Councillors may nominate to serve as LA Governors on a school that does not currently have a vacant post. In the event of the governorship becoming oversubscribed, the Council may stipulate which LA Governor must then stand down.

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations for filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the applications received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for Local Authority Governors:-

Primary School	Appointments
Blaenau (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs D Fisher-Edwards
Carwe-Gwynfryn-Ponthenri Federation (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Cllr. M. James



Cwrt Henri, Ffairfach and Talley Federation (2 x vacancies - 1 nomination)	Cllr. F. Walters
Griffith Jones (1 x vacancy from 1.4.23 - 1 nomination)	Mr. T. John
Hendy (1 x vacancy from 1.4.23 - 1 nomination)	Mrs. K. Taylor
Old Road (2 x vacancies - 2 nominations)	Cllr. A. Leyshon Rev. G. Hays
Parcyrhun (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs. E. Jones
Peniel (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr. W. Evans
Pentip (2 x vacancies - 1 nomination)	Mr. W.G. Thomas
Penygaer (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Cllr. R. James
Pontyates (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs. L.M. Cave
Teilo Sant (2 x vacancies - 1 nomination)	Mr. E. Davies

CABINET MEMBER	DATE

